Cash or Crash?

The trading blog read only by very nice people!

Oh poo.

Posted by robbiechicago on March 10, 2010

I’ll blame today on the fact that I was, after this post and subsequent discussion from JS, playing with Quantsports, the advanced charting tool for Betfair.  I’m kidding myself, of course.  I was poor today.  Might as well have been trading the kind of racing illustrated below…

I suppose if I’m going to take some solace out of the day it’ll be that to be honest my trading wasn’t all that bad.  What as bad was my attitude.  I started badly but clawed back a few wins only for it to go pear-shaped again.  This time though I lost my head and lumped money at the markets.  Stupid stupid stupid.  The first time I did it I eventually settled for a whopping £1.73 loss.  Then, when it happened again in the next race I decided to leave £6 outstanding on the back side and hope that the nag in question won and bailed me out.  An complete gamble which, probably for my own good, didn’t pay off.  I packed up for the day at this point and went to have a cup of tea and play Guitar Hero.  Rock and roll.

I made a small amount back betting on the Man United game (god, Milan are rubbish, aren’t they!) but all in all a day to forget.

As for Quantsports, it’s all a bit complicated and I didn’t see much benefit in the short time I was playing.  First of all I need to figure out what each chart type actually means, then find a way that it can give me some kind of advantage.  It’ll cost £8 for me to play with it for a month which I think is pretty reasonable.  JS, I might be coming back to you for some assistance in the next few days, mate!

Here’s Wednesday’s pooeyness:

3 Responses to “Oh poo.”

  1. Anonymous said

    Dude, there’s a difference between bravery and stupidity. For what it’s worth I think you’re stupid.

    You’ve had your rear-end handed to you constantly over the past months and now you’re back for more.

    You can’t do it.

    Insanity has been defined as repeating the same task over and over and expecting a different result.

    Could you be a good trader. Probably. But you’re unsuccessfully predicting the direction of the market and I think you should invest in a couple of courses with pro traders.

    • robbiechicago said

      Interesting. I wouldn’t say I entirely agree with you, to be honest. I don’t think I’ve had my arse handed to me constantly, just at various points over time. I don’t think that’s unusual. Repeating the same task over and over could be described as insanity. It could also be described as practice. Or perseverance. Or hard work. Yes, the same mistakes crop up, but it would be incorrect to suggest I’ve not ironed out other mistakes over time.

      That said, the gist of your comment, if rather harsh, is essentially true and it’s taken me less than a week to figure that out.

      Thanks Dangermouse. Not entirely sure I appreciate being called stupid, but I do appreciate the gesture. I’d rather people say what they think than not!

  2. JS said

    hey chicago sorry I haven’t got back to you sooner mate, has been a busy old week and am just getting some time today to catch up on the blogs. send me a mail if you have any questions, i’ll be glad to help in any way i can. good luck with it all.

Leave a Reply

 
